If not now, When?


mayorsagainstguns

just another rant …

The months wear on but no one has forgotten Newtown …

There are more deaths from hand guns and yet another massacre has taken place …

Tell your Democratic or Republican member of Congress that the time has come for #GunSafety #GunReform #UniversalBackgroundChecks

I am against handguns … period.  The incidents my family, friends even some co-workers have experienced have molded my attitude over the years, and a narrow escape or two of my own. The thought of a teacher being responsible for having or being forced to keep a handgun or anything larger in the classroom just does not make sense.

As more Americans watch, wait and wonder when Congress will take a stand on gun control, more say there is absolutely no reason a civilian should own or have access to an assault weapon. The fact is assault weapons, the standard infantry combat choice for most modern armies has no place in a civil society.  Police already have trouble protecting and serving our communities against illegal guns, legislation that broadly regulates the firearms industry and firearms owners let alone automatic weapons solely made and meant to kill people quickly.

At what point will our members of Congress, the firearm industry and owners stand up speak up or out over the current stalemate to move gun laws into the 21st Century. The NRA has been a thorn in all our sides, spending millions lobbying for gun rights while controlling votes in Congress. The Second Amendment, states: “A well-regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a Free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.”   I have to say, who doesn’t believe this amendment is in dire need of revaluation for the lives of our citizens.

In 1994, Congress added a background check system to strengthen our existing laws to keep guns out of the hands of felons, drug abusers, and the mentally ill. In 2004, Congress let the assault weapons ban expire. It is time to recognize and change the flaws in the background check system that have enabled folks to arrange hits, commit heinous crimes, violent deaths or massacres like Columbine, Virginia Tech, Arizona, Michigan, Washington state Colorado, Chicago , Texas, Santa Monica and DC

If not now, when is a good question.

written 4/2013

5 responses to “If not now, When?

    • Hello
      thank you for comments … I appreciate everyone who takes the time to visit and responds. I believe in universal background checks thinking it will definitely pickup those who are mentally ill who might be crossing states to buy sell guns that were stolen and those using online sites !

      Thank you for the link

  1. “I believe in universal background checks thinking it will definitely pickup those who are mentally ill who might be crossing states to buy sell guns that were stolen and those using online sites !”

    I think most stolen guns are being dealt by career criminals. Has little to do with mental illness. Stolen guns certainly are a problem though.

    In regards to online sites I don’t think that is a very big problem really. I don’t think you can go online and buy a gun and have it shipped to you in the mail from these sites (and I have dealt with them, this is firsthand experience).

    Basically it works like this. You go on some site that has ads from all around the country. So I am in Texas and I see this gun I got to have in Minnesota. In order to buy it I have to find an FFL (licensed gun dealer) near me willing to facilitate the deal. So I pay the dealer a flat fee or percentage and when I buy the gun it is shipped to the dealer. He takes it into his inventory with all the necessary paperwork. He then transfers it to me and a regular FBI NICS check is performed just like any other deal with a licensed dealer.

    Gun shows in my experience also are not a huge issue. I go to quite a lot. The vast majority of sales are by FFL licensed dealers and they have to conduct the FBI NICS check just like it was in their store. There are some private sales, but my perception is they are a tiny minority of total sales. Just what I have seen.

    I would like a universal background check system. That was what the link I gave you was about. It would allow me, as a private person, to have some belief that if I sell a gun in a private transaction that I am not selling to a career criminal.

    Nothing is perfect of course.

    It seems to me like the best solution will be one that a majority of people, including gunowners, will support and find fair. But don’t expect miracles or perfection. :)

    regards,

    lwk

    • hi Actually, the last few massacres were attempted or succeeded by people with mental illness… the DC man reached out for help and fell through the cracks. I meant to state the that bullets rounds and large clips are purchased online definitely are an issue that needs to be looked at among person to person gun sales …outside the gunshow on the street etc. happen … I agree, nothing is perfect but getting Congress to act on behalf of the greater good rather than for the gun manufacturers and the NRA is a problem. More citizens need to vote for less members of Congress that believe universal background checks are an attempt to take their 2nd Amendment rights away – I watched a video of a buy back event and outside in the parking lot were folks buying and selling guns with no middle man … just $$ passing hands. We need UBChks no matter how imperfect.

  2. “the last few massacres were attempted or succeeded by people with mental illness… ”

    Absolutely! In my mind there is also some question as to whether the huge increase in prescribing psychoactive drugs to young boys may contribute. I wrote about that here:

    Guns And Drugs

    http://free2beinamerica2.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/guns-and-drugs/

    “…the DC man reached out for help and fell through the cracks.”

    Again, Bingo! That is exactly correct. Somewhere in the 1970s we really cut back on dealing with the mentally ill in mental institutions. One genuine motivation was ill treatment of some, but the end result has been the transfer of treatment of many from mental institutions to penal instutions. I lived long enough to see that and knew people deeply affected by ti.

    “I meant to state the that bullets rounds and large clips are purchased online definitely are an issue”

    I personally doubt that in the whole equation they are as important as you suggest.

    “…getting Congress to act on behalf of the greater good rather than for the gun manufacturers and the NRA is a problem.”

    Look atmy article above on Guns and Drugs. Drug manufacturers are 100X more profitable that companies that make personal firearms.

    I would like to see univeral checks, at least the way I have suggested. Again, I would like to see them so I can feel better about the people I personally sell guns to. Obviously I am a guy who owns guns and trades and sells them from time to time. I really don’t want to sell to some jerk who is going to do something evil with the gun I sell him.

    I don’t think we are that far apart. It is really just coming to understand what the reality is and how best to address it. The truth is not always transparently obvious. :)

    regards,

    lwk