Kelly Herron – I’m upset … and don’t be fooled


Last week I successfully defended myself against a violent sexual assault in a public restroom at Golden Gardens Park in Seattle, yelling “not today, motherf*cker!”

But I’m more upset now than I have been all week after seeing that a political group is using my face, my name and my story to fundraise for I-1552, a ballot initiative that deliberately targets and harms transgender people—including friends whom I respect.

To the people behind I-1552, I say “not today, motherf*ckers.” I refuse to allow anyone to use me and my horrific sexual assault to cause harm and discrimination to others.

And I refuse to stand by as this same group pushes the repeal of Washington’s long-standing laws protecting my transgender friends. If they think they can use my experience to raise money for I-1552, then we have to raise twice as much.

Will you join me in giving $8 now to Washington Won’t Discriminate to fuel the campaign to stop I-1552?

Let me be very clear: I-1552 would not have done one thing to prevent the attack on me. It’s already illegal to enter a restroom or locker room to harm someone, period.

That’s why when I-1552’s backers claim they want to protect women and children from attack, I’m not fooled.

There’s only one reason they would exploit my painful story of surviving a sexual assault: To use fear-mongering to repeal Washington’s decade-old protections against discrimination for transgender people.

It’s disgusting that the I-1552 campaign would take advantage of sexual assault survivors like me in their shameful efforts to single out transgender Washingtonians for discrimination.

Help me fight back. Your donation of $8 to Washington Won’t Discriminate will bring a stop to the I-1552 campaign’s hurtful, dangerous agenda.

I’m proud to stand with people like you to set the record straight and keep discrimination out of the state we love.

Kelly Herron

